## James L. Holly, M.D.

## The Aesculapian Laureate Society

May 11, 2017 -- Tonight, at a dinner in San Antonio, UT Health San Antonio inaugurated the Aesculapian Laureate Society Award with the naming of James L. Holly, M.D. as the first alumnus to be named an Aesculapian Laureate. "Aesculapian" refers to "medicine or medical."

(How to pronounce Aesculapian: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gXlSxdzlaB8)

The certificate declares, "In Grateful Recognition Of Outstanding Service To Our Community and Unwavering Dedication To Making Lives Better For The Citizens Of Texas and The World." It is signed by William L. Henrich, MD, President of UT Health and Ronald Rodriguez, MD, Interim Dean, The Joe and Theresa Lozano Long School of Medicine.

The guests at this intimate gathering were Dr. and Mrs. Henrich, Dr. And Mrs. Rodriguez, Dr and Mrs. Carlos Jaen (Dr. Jaen is the occupant of the Dr. And Mrs. James L. Holly Distinguished Chair in Patient Centered Medical Home), Dr. Marvin Forland, Dr. Ruth Berggren, Mrs. Debbie Morrill, and Mr. Steven Reese.

Carolyn leaves Saturday to be with her Mother for Mother's Day. I made the final decision that she would not come. I wish she had been here. It is impossible to relate what was said by each person. Suffice it to be said that the affirmations and adulations were fulsome and effusive. They were also humbling but gratifying. Thank you all.

## The following are Dr. Henrich 's comments during the evening and the presentation:

Welcome and Opening Remarks – Dr. William Henrich

Thank you all for joining us this evening to honor Dr. Larry Holly SOM Class of 1973, and one of our School and University's most distinguished alumni. We are honored tonight with several special guests:

- 1. My wife Mary Henrich
- 2. Dr. Ron Rodriguez, Interim Dean of the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine, and his wife Rose

- 3. Dr. Carlos Jaén, the Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly Distinguished Chair in the Medical Center Home, and the Chair of our Department of Family and Community Medicine, and his wife Diane
- 4. Dr. Ruth Berggren, Director for the Center for Medical Humanities and Ethics
- 5. Dr. Marvin Forland, one of the School's most dedicated Founding Faculty members and a valued contributor to the Center for Medical Humanities and Ethics
- 6. Debbie Morrill, V.P. for Institutional Advancement and Chief Development Office for the University
- 7. Steven Reese, Director of Development for the School of Medicine

We have a special evening planned, so let us enjoy dinner -- and the auspicious company of this group of leaders -- and then later in the evening, we have a brief presentation we would like to make. James (Larry) Holly, M.D.

Dr. William L. Henrich Presents Aesculapian Laureate Society Award

This has been a lovely evening, and truly one of the highlights of my service to the Health Science as President and the School of Medicine – now the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine. When I joined the University faculty as Dean, Larry Holly was the first alumni of our School with whom I had contact. Our first conversation in the spring of 2006 set an amazing course for our School of Medicine, and the University, and it is my special privilege to highlight it with you tonight.

Larry's vision for the school and its philanthropy has truly been an inspiration. Larry and Carolyn's first gift to the School of Medicine was given to honor the memory of Dr. Richard Powell, who had served as President of the SOM Alumni Board.

With the untimely passing of Dr. Powell, Larry graciously offered to take on the role as President of the School of Medicine Alumni Board, a position in which he served for two illustrious terms, from 2006 to 2010.

Larry Holly's leadership changed the school forever. As President of the School's Alumni Board, Larry launched our first alumni fundraising campaign – encouraging and challenging his classmates, and each of our alumni, to invest in their School of Medicine alma mater. Larry established the Student Education Enhancement Fund dedicated to supporting important, enrichment programs for medical students – medical mission trips, tutoring services, research projects, and community-service learning projects, and more. It was a defining initiative that encouraged the development of compassionate physicians who are committed to the health of their communities and the world – and a culture that defines our School today. Larry and Carolyn never stopped giving.

Just a few short months after their first gift, Larry and Carolyn pledged their first major gift of \$50,000 to honor the school's first Dean, Dr. F. Carter Pannill, a dedicated educator they deeply admired.

Today, Larry and Carolyn Holly have established 8 endowments that support a wide array of programs across our Long School of Medicine.

They also inspired others to give, including a spectacular \$1M gift from a grateful patient and Trustee of the Beaumont Foundation of America, which was dedicated to refurbishing and naming the Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly Auditorium -- an iconic part of our University.

Each of you with us this evening works with one or more programs that have benefited from the generosity of Larry and Carolyn Holly, and from Larry's exemplary medical practice – SETMA.

The occasion of this evening is indeed an historic one for our University.

In recognition of Larry and Carolyn's vision for alumni giving in the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine, we have created a special giving society for our School – The Aesculapian Laureate Society.

We established this distinguished Society to honor School of Medicine Alumni who contribute \$1M or more.

Tonight's dinner celebrates the inaugural members of The Aesculapian Laureate Society, Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly, for their exemplary philanthropic leadership.

With all gifts, including generous personal giving from Larry and Carolyn, and the support they have engendered from SETMA, Universal American and Beaumont Foundation of America, Larry and Carolyn Holly have contributed just under \$3 million to our School of Medicine and University.

It my great privilege as President, former Dean and a proud faculty member of the Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine, and an incredibly special honor as their friend, to recognize Dr. Larry Holly and his wife, Carolyn Holly as the first recipients of The Aesculapian Laureate Society Award.

Larry, you and Carolyn have raised the bar and changed our School --and our University – forever. We are incredibly proud and deeply grateful to you both.







## From Left to Right:

- William Henrich, MD, President, UT Health San Antonio
- Ruth Berggren, MD, Director, Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics, UT Health San Antonio
- Ronald Rodriguez, MD Interim Dean, Long School of Medicine UT Health San Antonio
- Dr. Holly
- Dr. Marvin Forland, MD, Member of Founding Faculty, UT Health San Antonio Long School of Medicine
- Carlos Jaen, MD, Chairman, Department of Family and Community Medicine and the Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly Distinguished Chair in Patient-Centered Medical Home